Accounting Standards Committee

The Accounting Standards Committee meets on a monthly basis as part of an on-going exercise of reviewing all the Institute's Statements of Standard Accounting Practice(SSAP).

The Committee has issued the following statements:

SSAP 3.29 - Financial Instruments: Disclosure and Presentation
SSAP 3.30 - Presentation of Financial Statements.

Exposure Drafts

  • E11 - Net profit or Loss for the period, Fundamental Errors and Changes in Accounting Policies
  • E12 - Depreciation Accounting
  • E13 - Accounting of Life Insurance
  • E14 - Accounting for General Insurance were also circulated to members for comment.

In keeping with its thrust of maintaining a voice in the wider financial community the Committee reviewed the published financial statements of five of the leading financial institutions.

Committee Members:

 Garfield Reece photo2     

Garfield Reece (Chairman)

  • Winston Robinson (V.C.)
  • Wilbert Spence
  • Andrew Messado
  • Donald Brown
  • Yvonne Clarke (Mrs.)
  • Dennis Brown
  • Sixto Coy
  • Linval Freeman
  • Alok Jain
  • Recardo Nathan
  • Cynthia Lawrence (Miss)
  • Kerry-Ann Richards (Miss)
  • Keron Burrell
  • Allison Wynter (Miss)

Our Vision

"The ICAJ is committed to being a cohesive national body of trusted and influential professionals, that seeks to regulate and advance the Accountancy profession, consistent with world standards, for the benefit of its members, its students and its publics and, through creative thought leadership, encourages national development and the advancement of positive global changes".